All the Beautiful People We Once Knew

All the Beautiful People We Once Knew

A Novel

Book - 2017
Rate this:
"For fans of Don DeLillo and Joseph O'Neill, an enthralling debut about the one percent, what they'll do to stay on top, and the callous gaze they turn on those below them. Stephen Harker is a disillusioned associate at Kilgore LLP, litigating on behalf of multinational companies such as insurance giant WorldScore, underwriter of a contractor that supplies private soldiers to the US military. Harker's charismatic, womanizing boss assigns him a case defending WorldScore against a lawsuit filed by Major Michael "Bud" Thomas, an Air Force veteran, injured military contractor, and single dad seeking workers' compensation benefits for PTSD and other injuries suffered while employed in Afghanistan. Fearing that honoring his claims will open the floodgate of payouts to returning soldiers, WorldScore demands that Harker defeat Thomas at all costs. When Harker turns the firm's full legal power on the wounded veteran, he finds himself in an existential downward spiral and a desperate relationship with his boss's bohemian ex-wife until he is confronted with a final act of redemption. All the Beautiful People We Once Knew is a riveting insider's indictment of the world of the corporate elite and the savage determination with which they fight to maintain control of their profits. In a society where the very institutions that should support our returning veterans instead view them with suspicion, this stunning debut is a grim reflection on the ever-growing rift between the classes"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Skyhorse Publishing, 2017
ISBN: 9781510716315
1510716319
Characteristics: 281 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at HCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top