The Bolds

The Bolds

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
1
Two hyenas from Africa find a pair of passports (memo: do not go swimming in a crocodile pool), and move to Teddington, England, where they live suburban lives, hold jobs, and raise their children to hide their tails and act human--the only trouble is old Mr. McNumpty, their nosy neighbor, who is hiding a secret of his own.
Publisher: Minneapolis : Carolrhoda Books, 2016
Edition: First American edition
ISBN: 9781512404401
1512404403
Characteristics: 266 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: Roberts, David 1970-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
JCLChrisK Jan 14, 2020

I didn't care for the narrative voice or the choices that led to for telling the story, but I did enjoy the story itself, the humor, the illustrations, and the underlying themes. I think young readers will have a lot of fun with it.

g
Granitepath
Jul 31, 2019

This is a delightful book for anyone who loves animals. The themes of acceptance and neighbourliness and fitting in are well handled.

o
Olivia__h
May 18, 2017

My 11 year old daughter likes this one.

CMLibrary_rkimray Apr 22, 2016

Reluctant readers will enjoy this extremely funny, heavily illustrated book about hyenas masquerading as humans. Since they are hyenas, there is a lot of inappropriate laughing, tails that pop out of disguises, and a fair amount of bottom-sniffing. Perfectly quirky humor for fans of Captain Underpants, Roald Dahl, or Lemony Snicket.

Age

Add Age Suitability
CMLibrary_rkimray Apr 22, 2016

CMLibrary_rkimray thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 7 and 9

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at HCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top