Goodbye 20th Century

Goodbye 20th Century

A Biography of Sonic Youth

eBook - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
The definitive biography of Sonic Youth, architects of noise rock and the most beloved, longest-running house band of Alternative Nation. Sonic Youth's distinctive, uncompromising sounds have provided a map for innumerable musicians who followed, from '90s groundbreakers like Nirvana and Pavement to current faves. More than perhaps any other act, Sonic Youth brought "fringe" art to the mainstream, helping spawn an alternative arts scene that prospers to this day: a world of punk rock, underground films and comics, experimental music, conceptual art, contemporary classical compositions, and even fashion. Here, music writer Browne tells their story, based on extensive research, fresh interviews with the band and those who have worked with them, and unprecedented access to unreleased recordings and documents. This is a detailed portrait of an iconic band and the times they helped create.--From publisher description.
Publisher: New York : Da Capo, c2008
Edition: 1st Da Capo Press ed
ISBN: 9780306817595
Characteristics: 1 online resource (422 p.) : ill
Alternative Title: Goodbye twentieth century


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at HCL

To Top