The Fortunes of War

The Fortunes of War

The Balkan Trilogy

eBook - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
The Balkan Trilogy is the story of a marriage and of a war in which Olivia Manning brings the uncertainty and adventure of civilian existence under political and military siege to vibrant life. Newlyweds Guy and Harriet Pringle, arrive in Bucharest--the so-called Paris of the East--in the fall of 1939, just weeks after the German invasion of Poland. Guy, an Englishman teaching at the university, is as wantonly gregarious as his wife is introverted, and Harriet is shocked to discover that she must share her adored husband with a wide circle of friends and acquaintances. Other surprises follow: Romania joins the Axis, and before long German soldiers overrun the capital. The Pringles flee south to Greece, part of a group of refugees made up of White Russians, journalists, con artists, and dignitaries. In Athens, however, the couple will face a new challenge of their own, as great in its way as the still-expanding theater of war.
Publisher: New York : New York Review Books, c2010
ISBN: 9781590177037
Characteristics: 1 online resource


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

MarioEnriqueRiosPinot Apr 04, 2014

I liked Manning's style of writing but I was so upset by the politics of the Nazi's in, was it Romania? I looked at the movie and was disappointed. I tried rereading but I could not do it, maybe a little later. I think she exposes Harriet's deep stupidity.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at HCL

To Top