DBT Made Simple

DBT Made Simple

A Step-by-step Guide to Dialectical Behavior Therapy

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
In the tradition of ACT Made Simple, DBT Made Simple is a manual for therapists seeking to understand and apply the four dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) skills in individual therapy. DBT is an effective treatment for borderline personality disorder, self injury, chemical dependency, trauma related to sexual abuse, and various mood disorders. Key Selling Points: ? New Harbinger excels in publishing accessible and practical DBT books for professionals and laypeople. The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook (ISBN: 978 1572245136) has sold over 150,000 copies and is the definitive self help guide to using DBT. Page 24 of 83 TIP SHEET TIP SHEET ? Sheri Van Dijk is author of The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook for Bipolar Disorder (ISBN: 978 1572246287), The Bipolar Workbook for Teens (ISBN: 978 1572246966), Don't Let Your Emotions Run Your Life for Teens (ISBN: 978 1572248830), and Calming the Emotional Storm (ISBN: 978 1608820870). Her books have sold a combined total of over 30,000 copies. ? This book offers professionals a skills based manual for applying DBT in therapy, including guidance on structuring client sessions along with many client handouts and worksheets. Description: Originally developed for the treatment of borderline personality disorder, dialectical behavior therapy, or DBT, has rapidly become one of the most popular and most effective treatments for all mental health conditions rooted in out of control emotions. However, there are limited resources for psychologists seeking to use DBT skills with individual clients. In the tradition of ACT Made Simple, DBT Made Simple provides clinicians with everything they need to know to start using DBT in the therapy room. The first part of this book briefly covers the theory and research behind DBT and explains how DBT differs from traditional cognitive behavioral therapy approaches. The second part focuses on strategies professionals can use in individual client sessions, while the third section teaches the four skills modules that form the backbone of DBT: core mindfulness, distress tolerance, emotion regulation, and interpersonal effectiveness. The book includes handouts, case examples, and example therapist client dialogue--everything clinicians need to equip their clients with these effective and life changing skills. Author Bio: Sheri Van Dijk, MSW, is a mental health therapist in Newmarket, Ontario, Canada. She is the author of a number of dialectical behavior therapy skills books, including The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook for Bipolar Disorder, Don't Let Your Emotions Run Your Life for Teens, and Calming the Emotional Storm. In 2010, Sheri received the R.O. Jones Award from the Canadian Psychiatric Association for her research on using DBT skills to treat bipolar disorder. Visit her online at www.sherivandijk.com.
Publisher: Oakland, CA : New Harbinger Publications, c2012
ISBN: 9781608821648
1608821641
Characteristics: 197 p. ; 26 cm
Alternative Title: Dialectical behavior therapy

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at HCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top