Operation Napoleon

Operation Napoleon

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
9
Rate this:
Prepare for blockbuster action in the vein of Clive Cussler and Alistair Maclean   A mesmerizing international thriller that sweeps from modern Iceland to Nazi Germany. In 1945, a German bomber crash-lands in Iceland durign a blizzard. Puzzlingly, there are both German and American officers on board. One of the senior German officers claims that their best chance of survival is to try to walk to the nearest farm. He sets off, a briefcase handcuffed to his wrist, only to disappear into the white vastness.   Flash forward to the present. The U.S. Army is clandestinely trying to remove the wreck of an airplane from an Icelandic glacier. A young Icelander, Elias, inadvertently stumbles upon the excavation and then promptly disappears. Before he vanishes, though, he manages to contact his sister, Kristin. She embarks on a thrilling and perilous adventure, determined to discover the truth of her brother's fate. Kristin must solve the riddle of Operation Napoleon, even if it means losing her own life.   Arnaldur Indridason has proven himself to be a master of the mystery genre with his critically acclaimed Inspector Erlunder series, which has sold more than 6 million copies. Now, world-class writing and nonstop action meet in this spellbinding page-turner, which catapults Arnaldur Indridason to the top ranks of international thriller writers.
Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books, 2011
Edition: 1st U.S. ed
ISBN: 9780312659103
0312659105
Characteristics: 327 p. ; 25 cm
Additional Contributors: Cribb, Victoria

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
gailjackman
Aug 11, 2017

This was a first read for me by a wonderful author who certainly knows his history and weaves it into a mystery that is one I could barely put down! Looking forward to more from this author on stand-alone books.

l
LindaMarion
Jun 07, 2013

kept my interest throughout. this book stands alone from the rest of arnaldur indridason's books. not part of a series. enjoyable!

m
m_ajohnson
Sep 02, 2012

a quick read due to the cardboard characters. think he was trying to write an action movie.

y
yafuid
Jun 20, 2012

pretty mediocre adventure - thriller Reads like a weak Ken Follett novel

LaBeteNoir Dec 08, 2011

Cover looks like a WWII thriller but it really is a contemporary story set in Iceland, with a link to something that happened in WWII.

I would of give 5 stars to the quick moving action story but the "something" was disappointing and not as farfetched as the story implies.

k
Komplikator
Oct 31, 2011

I tried to like this book, I really did

Interesting concept and plot, poorly executed. Could have been so much better

The syntax was akward in places (obviously they did not have a native English speaker proof read after the translation)

Spoiler Alert

Several plot specifics in the following critique

And the author has not concept of how some things actually work in the real world.

ie The defense departmant does NOT tell the State Dept that they are taking over an Embassy.

the Army does NOT operate fixed wing transports, the Air Force does,

Would a Search and Rescue training exercise really let two young men go off by them selves to "test the new snowmobiles"?

and on
and on

c
coalbanks
Jul 05, 2011

Not his best but as good as most on the theme of CIA conspiracies, NAZI secrets. Cleaver method of including Erlendur & Sigurder Oli in what is otherwise not one of thier tales.

rubysue Jun 28, 2011

Great suspense and extraordinary premise.

b
boglaerd
Jan 20, 2011

Great espionage story.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at HCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top